Amy van Keeken and TimeLoop – All The Time CD Review

Amy van Keeken and TimeLoop


All The Time
Amy van Keeken & TimeLoop
Scorpio Seventy Six Records

Amy van Keeken has been spreading her shimmering vocal dust over the Edmonton scene for several years now performing and recording with acts like The Secretaries, Dub Vulture, and The AwesomeHots. On All The Time Keeken and her band TimeLoop offer up five well-crafted pieces of lustrous ear sugar. For these sessions she brings in Secretaries and AwesomeHots bandmate Darren Radbourne, a gifted multi-instrumentalist, here sticking mostly with keyboards. Also of the AwesomeHots Tom Murray comes in on bass joining forces with his Manraygun rhythm-mate Scott Lingley, together filling out the main TimeLoop line up.

The opening song Diamond Mine shows off some beautiful vocal harmonies between Keeken and special guests Liam Trimble and Ian Waddell, with Trimble adding some sparkling twelve string guitar, providing the track with some bright splashes of sunshine. Let Me Dream is a languid ballad dripping with character, sounding like it was lifted from the soundtrack of an old Hollywood musical, especially when Radbourne’s muted coronet makes an appearance to complement the doleful mood.

The title track is a breezy love song bathed in jangly rhythm guitar, walls of organ, and some nice piano flourishes from Radbourne that create a creamy canvas for Keeken’s honeyed voice. It’s the same again on Uneasy but with increased force and emotional velocity which leads us into a perfect finale with what I consider the best song on the recording. Keep Your Light Warm is one of those infectious pop ballads that simply sends shivers up your spine. Authentic, anthemic and full of hope it is the perfect finish to a moving set of soulful and inspiring compositions.

Originally published in BC Musician Magazine